Maintaining a backup and restore of your Store Database is not only a
good practice, but a real necessity. Backing up the database allows
recovery of the database either partially or totally in case of an
operating system, software, hardware failure or human mistakes. These
can damage or make the database inoperative and the data inaccessible.
The backup and restore Wizard gives you the ability to configure possible database restore scenarios. You can:
- Backup entire current database,
- Restore over current database.
Database Backup and Restore can be accessed through Tools menu.
To make Database Backup enter Database Backup/Restore Wizard:
- Select Backup entire current database to perform.
- Specify a file for your DB backup to be saved in.
- Select the tables you wish to backup. In this case when you have
chosen Backup entire database all tables would be checked, but you can
check or uncheck them yourself. Restore from backup or Restore
default database with initial data.
There is also a possibility to save only database structure
(tables with no data). If you wish to select Copy Create Statements,
such SQL statements will be saved in the backup file.
Attention! By clicking "Next >" Button you're saving the script into the file selected before.
- On the next page you're able to preview it and in case you need a backup with some different settings - run the Wizard again.
To make Database Restore enter Database Backup/Restore Wizard:
- Select which action you wish to perform: Restore from current backup.
- Specify a file for your DB backup to be Restored from.
- Preview the script you wish to Restore from. Also there is a
possibility to clear current database before restoring. Force Clear DB
option excludes this possibility that some current database data not
mentioned in the script stay as they are.
Attention! By clicking "Next >" Button you're starting restore from file selected before.
- On the next page you're able to check all errors that occurred during script extraction.
After the database is restored from a backup image, it will only
allow users to access the data available at the time the backup image
was taken. All the database changes made from that point on are lost.